NBA Coach of the Year

first_imgIt is interesting to see what happens to coaches in the NBA who have won the Coach of the Year Award.  Mike Budenholzer of the Atlanta Hawks won the title this year.  The question is “how long will he remain the coach of the Hawks”?  I have 3 examples of what happened to some of his predecessors after they won this award.Avery Johnson of the Mavericks was their coach in 2005-06 when he won.  He was fired 2 years later even though he was the fastest to win 150 games in the NBA.Sam Mitchell of the Raptors won in 2006-07.  He was fired 17 games into the next season.  At that time, he had the most wins in team history.George Karl of the Nuggets was Coach of the Year in 2012-13.  He made the playoffs all 9 seasons up to that point.  He has not made it since he won the award.  The moral of my story–don’t win this Coach of the Year Award if you want to stay with your team.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *